Twitter

I was never the person to tweet. I had a Facebook, an Instagram, and a Pinterest. However, twitter is foreign land for me. To me it was a social media page were people created posts that were sometimes funny, random, or a play-by-play of their morning routine. When we created out Twitters, you had to add a certain amount of people, celebrities, and other twitter accounts. I added my beloved Blackhawks, my classmates, and the helpful twitters for teachers accounts: @coolcatteacher, @shannonmmiller, @web20classroom, @ISBEnews, @P21CentSkills. I realized that the posts that people were commenting on and talking about were informative and interesting. While I also received  the scores and updates for the Blackhawk games quicker, I was able to find articles that people posted about digital citizenship and other technology in the classroom topics. Without having to search the internet and go through databases and venture onto the third “0” page of “gooooooogle” I was able to click a link and have new information in front of me.

http://novemberlearning.com/educational-resources-for-educators/teaching-and-learning-articles/how-twitter-can-be-used-as-a-powerful-educational-tool/

The first article that I found was about finding a deeper level of learning that involved going beyond just knowing facts. “What you want to have is a sense of imagination, intuition, and inspiration, and those don’t miss-predict based on socio-economic status, race, gender, or language ability.” The article discussed the difficulty of teaching students who don’t seem to want to learn. I know that as a teacher I can use some of the strategies. There are motivation techniques and strategies to spark curiosity. I believe that technology from YouTube videos to hands on stimulations will allow students to be pulled into the discussion and enjoy learning. I am not going to lie, I have a fear of planning a great lesson and then presenting it to the class and the student’s eyes are heavy, they are uninterested, or simply don’t want to be there. In general education classes, sometimes students are pulled out for special education instruction. The student does not want to be away from their peers and doing something different then everyone else. I am stubborn and if I did not want to do something, then I was not going to do it. But, on the other hand I was self-motivating and I knew what I wanted to accomplish and what I had to do to accomplish it. Some students are not self-motivating, but they do not want to learn. Sometimes the best YouTube video in the world will not motivate a student to participate in a discussion. This article talks about the deeper learning that should happen. If students do not want to learn, technology might allow them to learn it independently: at their own speed. This might allow them to get interested and motivated, then they can go back to discussing it with the special education teacher.

Other topics that were discussed was saving time with technology. There were 46 problems and then solutions. It was beneficial because it states the problems that you might have and then there are solutions that would help those problems.

Here are the tweets that I think deserve the retweet!

Leave a Reply

